top of page

Disney World "New Normal" Take Aways


Yesterday was my first day back in a Disney park and my heart was so happy!! There are so many wonderful things I learned and I can't wait to share them with you!




The NEW Security and Temperature Checks were a Breeze!


Parking has changed a bit. As of yesterday, they did not allow us into the parking lot until 30 minutes before opening. This is good to know for planning. If you arrive more than 40 minutes before they may have you loop around. Then, after allowing us in, they held us at a spot in the parking lot for another 10 minutes before parking us in every other spot. BE PATIENT in the parking lot. I'm sure they know it is slow and this is probably on purpose to control the crowds at the security and entrance area! You will save whatever time you spend in the parking lot (in your air conditioned car) in the security process. Definitely a win.



The front of Animal Kingdom looks SO different with the new security area but getting in was so easy. Temperature checks are contactless and so quick. The new security scanners were my favorite new thing. Umbrellas were the only item they asked you to take out but I heard some cameras and water bottles set off the alarms. I didn't feel like we lost any of the safety value because there were security guards with their eyes glued to a monitor looking for dangerous items.




Wait Times are so LOW


We all know that Flight of Passage is always one of the longest lines at Walt Disney World. Well the highest wait time I saw for that was in the beginning of the day and it was only 30 minutes. This could change with official park opening this weekend but we will have to wait and see!




Most wait times were just the walk to the ride. The only time we were paused (socially distant) was when they were cleaning the ride. But once the line got moving again, it moved quickly. I rode all the big rides two times each and I didn't mean to. I was honestly working for a good few hours.



Packing is KEY


Make sure you either pack or plan to buy water. I swear by my Corkcicle and Liquid IV. I will drop my link to my Amazon store here where you can find some of my park faves! My Corkcicle keeps my drink cold literally all day and the Liquid IV hydrates me 3 times faster than water! Crazy I know. Regardless the masks are hot and, hey, it's Florida in July so you will need to hydrate or you will probably feel sick. I did not see a lot of easy ways to get free cups of water around the park so keep that in mind.


Staying cool with handheld or neck rechargeable fans was a lifesaver. Honestly Animal Kingdom has lots of shade and fans but the air-conditioned shows were currently closed. My favorite lightweight, compact fan comes from Sugarboo and Co. The neck fans are in the Amazon link above.


I also packed homemade peanut butter protein balls and some snacks. A change of at least a shirt and a couple masks come highly recommended by me. Note they do make you keep on masks on water rides so I would definitely change my mask after that!! Changing my shirt halfway through the day made me feel a lot better.


If you're visiting during the summer there's also a good chance it will rain so come prepared with a rain jacket or poncho!



Take Advantage of Dining or Relaxation Stations


Each park seems to have at least two Relaxation Stations where you can go in with your party, sit, take off your masks, and have a drink/snack. We took advantage of one across from the Up! Bird Show but there was another inside of Pizzafari (which is currently closed for dining). There is no time limit for these areas as far as I'm aware! They are limited seating so it will be interesting to see if these get crowded as the parks officially open. Pizzafari is air-conditioned but the other one is shaded with a view of the character cavalcades on the water.




There are also dining spots available. I would definitely recommend making a reservation or mobile ordering quick service if you plan on staying all 10 hours of opening. We ate at Nomad Lounge. There were limited food options but all the favorites were there!





The Disney Touches were Magical


The Cast Members were so happy to be there that I almost cried. I thanked them over and over but they sincerely thanked us as well.


The character cavalcades were so cute! I missed Dino Chip and Dale so much so that was my favorite one but Safari Mickey and Minnie was pretty amazing too! I just love Animal Kingdom :)




Overall I was happy with my first day back. The sights, the sounds, the ambiance was back and I was one happy mama. It wasn't perfect and not every snack and attraction was available but it was nice to be back to one of my happy places.






60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page